The most important asset any Missouri worker has is their driver’s license. It is necessary not only to commute to work, it is needed to perform some jobs like Uber driving or delivering goods across the state. When an individual is adjudicated guilty for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, the first part of one’s punishment involves loss of driving privileges.
Is it possible for an experience drunk driver defense attorney to spare such inconveniences and help DWI defendants save their driving privileges? Let’s examine what Missouri legislation says to determine the possibility of immediate license restoration.
Drunk driving laws are heavily enforced in Missouri
Check this out.
Missouri prohibits anyone from physically controlling any motorized vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. With an imposed limit of .08 for regular vehicles and .04 for commercially operated trucks and cars, the equivalent of two beers per three hours will meet (or can exceed) that threshold.
In fact, Missouri laws dictate one can be charged with DWI even if they are in the position to confine or control a vehicle’s movements. Implied consent laws mean that one must submit to either breath or blood testing to determine the level of alcohol saturation in blood or breath.
Penalties for DWI are stiff
Seriously, they’re rough.
From the first DWI one receives, penalties are pretty harsh. For starters, license suspension for first-timers is 30 days, followed by an additional restricted license period with the potential requirement an IID (ignition interlock device) be equipped on your vehicle. These devices force drivers to take a breathalyzer test prior to the vehicle’s ignition being allowed to engage. A 6-month jail sentence is possible, too, depending on circumstances.
Second DWI means an automatic 5-year revocation with a 6-month minimum IID requirement. Jail sentences now increase to one (1) year. The third DWI means guilty persons may receive up to 4 years in prison and license suspension for 10 years, with 6 months minimum of IID time possible.
Hardship licenses are possible if they’re required for work, although the more DWI’s one gets, the harder petitioning the courts will be.
An attorney is your best option here
Yes, it’s true.
Trying to maintain driving privileges when you are found guilty of DWI is difficult without an attorney pleading your case. Judges are hesitant giving restricted licenses to repeat offenders, and rightfully so; DWI’s killed 205 and injured 3,480 in 2014 alone, according to Missouri Highway Patrol.
The drunk driver defense attorney you retain must be knowledgeable of Missouri code, must work diligently to restore or maintain some form of licensure, and can often times fight procedural indifferences to get charges lessened or dismissed altogether.
Know your limits, and state laws, prior to operating that 3,000-pound bullet. Should an unfortunate arrest thwart your driver’s license, do not fight the charge alone – an attorney is worthy both of your investment, and the effort, in keeping you driving.
One drunk driver defense attorney in Springfield knows the laws, Greene County courts and what remedies defendants have. Visit our user-friendly website at http://www.deanpricelaw.com, or talk with us about your DWI charge by phone at (417) 865-2181.
NOTE: This is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice.